This is the "Grammar Links" page of the "Grammar Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grammar Basics  

A collection of resources for good writing.
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2011 URL: http://bishopstang.libguides.com/grammar Print Guide RSS Updates
Grammar Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FreeRice.com

Play Freerice and feed the hungry

 

Practice grammar and do a good deed at the same time!  (And it's fun!) This web quiz was developed by an organization that provides free rice to those in need.  Beware, the questions get harder as you go. This link goes to the main page, and you can select the Grammar Quiz from the subjects tab. Don't forget to come back!

Practice exercises

Interactive quizzes and practice exercises to you can develop mad grammar skillz.

 

Grammar Girl

Lots of practical, easy to understand answers to your questions.  Available in both text and podcast versions.

MLA Style Guides

MLA is the format you will use for all your papers here at Stang.  Here are the guidelines.

 

Commas are a matter of life or death.

 

What is this?

Welcome to the Grammar LibGuide!  Here you will find a collection of links to:

  • Websites that provide basic grammar rules regarding the parts of speech, sentence construction, punctuation, and capitalization rules.
  • Exercises for practicing and improving your skills.
  • Resources to help with improving your writing skills
  • Tools to increase vocabulary

Great Grammar Resources

A collection of some of the best websites to help you, not just with grammar, but with writing skills for all of your classes.

  • OWL - Writing Center at Purdue
    The OWL (Online Writing Center) at Purdue is acknowledged as one of the best guides to writing a research paper (and to good writing in general) available on the Internet. You will go back to this site all the time for advice on everything, from how to develop a thesis statement to how to format citations.
  • The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
    Another very thorough guide with related videos, covers everything from the absolute basics through the trickiest usage problems.
  • Common Errors in English Usage
    If you aren't sure, look it up here. Searchable, with an alphabetical listing of some of the most commonly misused or mistaken words and phrases in English.
  • Guide to Grammar and Writing
    Another grammar guide, from the Capital Community College Foundation in Ct. With lots of practice exercises and a section on diagramming sentences to learn the parts of a sentence.
 

Schoolhouse Rocks!

See the right column for more video links, including all of the Parts of Speech videos from Schoolhouse Rock!

 

Diagramming Sentences

Diagramming sentences helps you learn to break them down and analyze how sentences are structured. This link leads to a whole course on grammar and writing, and more from this teacher can be found in the box on the right.

Video links: Parts of Speech

Schoolhouse Rock (oldies but goodies!) and other video tutorials to help you figure out what's what. If you aren't sure what a conjunction is or whether or not you've ever met one, check these links out.

Dictionaries and Thesauruses

Learn a new word every day -- a great resource for preparing for the SATs as well! In additon to providing definitions, a good dictionary provides the part of speech and often an example of how the word is used in "real-life" writing. A thesaurus can suggest synonyms for words and help you find just the right word for what you are writing.

Sentence diagram: the Pledge of Allegiance

Just for fun, a link to a diagram of the Pledge of Allegiance, which is all one very long sentence!

 

Punctuation is Important!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip