This is the "Databases & Websites" page of the "Central America, Carribean & Mexico" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Central America, Carribean & Mexico  

Last Updated: May 17, 2010 URL: http://bishopstang.libguides.com/cenamcarmex Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases & Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Project

While studying Central America, the Carribean and Mexico you have learned they are regions of beauty, tropical climates, tourist "hot spots," and a vast history.  You have also learned the regions suffer severe poverty, social unrest, and severe gaps between the rish and poor.  Along with a partner, you will be assigned a country.  One of you will be giving a PowerPoint presentation as if you were a tour guide trying to get your fellow classmates to vacation in the region.  The other will be giving a PowerPoint presentation on the struggles within the country.  (6 slides each)

You must have three sources: at least two print sources and one online source.

You and your partner must do the research together.  Each presentation should be at least three minutes long.  Good luck!

     

    World Geography & Culture

     

    World History

    Culture & Map Databases

    • Global Road Warrior
      "The Ultimate Guide to the World"
      From the database website:
      "How much do I tip in Bolivia?"
      "Are there religious taboos in Oman?"
      "How do I greet my host in Mail?"
      What is typical family life like in Japan?"
      "Is punctuality important in Russia?"
    • A to Z Maps Online
      "The world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps."

    Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

    The titles listed below are electronic versions of subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias (also known as E-books). 

    • Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the World
      Presents more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every country on the planet.
    • Encyclopedia of Population
      Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years. Topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, low fertility rates, immigration, problems of old-age support, the environmental impact of dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and many other issues.
    • Encyclopedia of World Cultures
      This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

    Useful websites

    Here are some websites to get you started on your research.  They are great resources but some of they may lead you to other not-so-great resources.  Please be prepared to complete a Website Review and Evaluation Rubric.   

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip